E5D_7839_edited.jpg

A poncho for 84.90 euros. You might be wondering, isn't that a bit pricey? Conventional surf ponchos can be found for as little as 50 euros. That's true too - but these ponchos are anything but fair and sustainable. 

We want to be transparent with wiemeer and show you how our price is put together and perhaps convince you that you would rather support our small brand concept than a large corporation.

We want to show you which processes and work steps are involved in wiemeer in order to bring you closer to the resulting price. In addition to a lot of passion and love, there is a lot more work and intermediate steps than you might think.

 

Fabrics & Textiles

We work exclusively with natural cotton fabrics with an Öko-Tex® certificate according to Standard 100. As with all other raw materials, the price of textile goods is constantly increasing. However, instead of cheaply produced goods, we prefer to use high-quality and non-toxic materials. Simply by the choice of textiles, our poncho can't be that "cheap".

 

Production

We manufacture all orders on demand, i.e. each poncho is made especially for you. This allows us to avoid mass and overproduction. With this on-demand production, we can not only manufacture fairly, but of course we also want to be paid fairly, which is unfortunately not the case in most large companies in developing countries. In addition, of course, there is rent and electricity for the studio.

 

We create "recycled surf ponchos" and "reusable cosmetic pads" from the residues that remain in the manufacturing process of the ponchos - this means that we have almost no waste and thus pursue a zero-waste concept.

 

Packing & Shipping

Not only do we not use plastic, we also ship your order in second-hand boxes. In this way we can reduce unnecessary packaging material and take care of the environment.

 

We charge part of the shipping and also point out that in the case of returns / exchanges, the shipping costs are incurred by the buyer. We hope that this will lead to more conscious and targeted selections than indiscriminate "shopping".

 

Steer

We like meer started as a small company. So we were able to start with a slightly lower selling price, since we "only" had to factor in material and labor at the beginning. Thanks to you - our incredibly loyal and ever-growing community - we came across the border as a small business and were able/needed to expand our company a bit. We are therefore subject to VAT from 2022 and also pay 19% VAT to the tax office, which is also included and stated in the sales price. 

 

Marketing & Social Media

In return for the website & our mailbox, which we also pay annually, using Instagram is free.
However, the content does not come by itself - so many hours of work are put into photos, content, text and image design. Not to mention the almost daily handling of emails and messages, website and product design.

 

As far as the marketing itself is concerned, we have always been very cautious & have hardly invested any money in cooperation or advertising. While some people may be shaking their heads now, we want to continue our idea of sustainability here as well and prefer to address a small majority of like-minded people and work with people who have the same convictions as we do. It's about a conscious handling of products and resources & we want to implement this idea in the marketing area as well.

Social projects

Those people who have been following us on social media for a long time have probably already noticed - we are also trying to create a platform with the help of wiemeer to help other people. We want to share the profit that comes from our continuous work with others who may not have the opportunity to work themselves - instead of putting everything in our pockets. If a topic catches our eye from everyday reporting, or if one of us has a heart project, we donate 10% of all income to certain projects - in recent years it was, for example, help to help with the damage caused by the fires in Australia. At the beginning of the global pandemic, we had a special project - here we designed, sewed and tie-dyed reusable cloth masks, and donated all profits to an orphanage in Tanzania with the support of Worlds Education. Currently - since the beginning of the war in the Ukraine - we have been donating 10% of our sales since February to help there as well and to make a small contribution.

Thank you for your loyal support and your love for the sea - wiemeer would not be possible without you!

E5D_7839_edited.jpg

Ein Poncho für 84,90 Euro. Du fragst dich vielleicht, ob das nicht etwas teuer ist? Herkömmliche Surf Ponchos findet man ja bereits ab 50 Euro. Stimmt auch - allerdings sind diese Ponchos alles andere als fair & nachhaltig hergestellt. 

Wir wollen mit wiemeer transparent sein und dir zeigen, wie sich unser Preis zusammenstellt und dich so vielleicht auch davon überzeugen, lieber unser kleines Marken-Konzept zu unterstützen als einen großen Konzern.

Wir wollen dir aufzeigen welche Prozesse & Arbeitsschritte in wiemeer stecken, um dir dadurch den entstandenen Preis näher zu bringen. Neben einem Haufen Herzblut und Liebe, steckt da nämlich so einiges mehr an Arbeit & Zwischenschritten drinnen als du vielleicht denkst.

 

Stoffe & Textilien

Wir arbeiten mit natürlichen Stoffen aus Baumwolle mit Öko-Tex® Zertifikat nach Standard 100. So wie bei allen anderen Rohstoffen steigt auch der Preis für textile Ware ständig. Jedoch wollen wir statt billig produzierte Ware lieber hochwertige und schadstofffreie Stoffe verwenden. Schon alleine durch die Wahl der Textilien, kann unser Poncho also schon einmal nicht so "billig" sein.

 

Produktion & Fertigung

Wir fertigen alle Bestellungen on demand, sprich jeder Poncho wird speziell für dich gefertigt. Dadurch können wir Massen- und Überproduktionen vermeiden. Durch diese on demand Produktion können wir nicht nur fair fertigen, sondern wollen uns dadurch natürlich auch fair entlohnen, was in den meisten großen Betrieben in Entwicklungsländern leider auch nicht der Fall ist. Dazu kommt natürlich noch Miete und Strom für das Atelier.

 

Aus den Reststoffen, die im Fertigungsprozess der Ponchos übrig bleiben, kreieren wir "recycled Surf Ponchos" und "reusable Kosmetikpads" - dadurch haben wir so gut wie keinen Verschnitt und verfolgen so ein Zero-Waste Konzept.

 

Verpackung & Versand

Wir verzichten nicht nur auf den Gebrauch von Plastik, sondern versenden deine Bestellung in second Hand Kartons. So können wir unnötiges Verpackungsmaterial reduzieren und auf die Umwelt achten.

 

Wir verrechnen einen Teil des Versandes und weisen auch daraufhin, dass bei Retouren / Umtausch der Versand für den Käufer anfällt. Dadurch hoffen wir, dass bewusster und gezielter ausgewählt wird, als wahllos "geshopped".

 

Steuern

Angefangen haben wir wiemeer als Kleinunternehmen. Somit konnten wir auch mit einem etwas niederen Verkaufspreis starten, da wir anfangs "nur" Material und Arbeitszeit einberechnen mussten. Dank euch - unserer unglaublich treuen und immer weiter wachsenden Community - kamen wir über die Grenze als Kleinunternehmen und konnten/mussten unser Unternehmen etwas expandieren. Somit sind wir ab 2022 umsatzsteuerpflichtig und zahlen auch 19% Umsatzsteuer ans Finanzamt, die auch im Verkaufspreis inkludiert und angegeben wird. 

 

Marketing & Social Media

Im Gegenzug zur Website & unserem Postfach, das wir auch jährlich bezahlen, ist die Verwendung von Instagram gratis.
Jedoch kommt der Content nicht von selbst - so stecken auch hier viele Arbeitsstunden für Fotos, Content, Text und Bildgestaltung. Ganz zu schweigen von der fast täglichen Bearbeitung von E-Mails und Nachrichten, Website- und Produktdesign.

 

Was das Marketing selbst betrifft, haben wir uns bis jetzt immer sehr zurückgehalten & und kaum Geld in Kooperationen oder Werbeschaltungen investiert. Wo jetzt vielleicht so mancher Kopf geschüttelt wird, wollen wir auch hier unseren Gedanken der Nachhaltigkeit weiterführen und lieber eine kleine Mehrheit aus Gleichgesinnten ansprechen und gezielt mit Menschen zusammenarbeiten, die die gleiche Überzeugungen haben wie wir. Es geht um einen bewussten Umgang mit Produkten und Ressourcen & diesen Gedanken wollen wir auch im Marketingbereich umsetzen.

Soziale Projekte

Diejenigen Personen, die uns schon länger auf Social Media folgen, haben es vermutlich schon einmal mitbekommen - wir versuchen mithilfe von wiemeer auch eine Plattform zu schaffen, um anderen Menschen zu helfen. Den Gewinn, der durch unsere kontinuierliche Arbeit abfällt, möchten wir mit anderen teilen, die vielleicht nicht die Möglichkeit haben, selbst zu arbeiten - anstatt alles in unsere Tasche zu stecken. Fällt uns aus der alltäglichen Berichterstattung ein Thema besonders ins Auge, oder hat eine von uns ein Herzensprojekt, spenden wir 10% aller Einnahmen an gewisse Projekte - in den letzten Jahren war es beispielsweise Hilfe der durch die Brände in Australien entstandenen Schäden. Zu Beginn der globalen Pandemie hatten wir ein besonderes Projekt - hier haben wir wiederverwendbare Stoffmasken entworfen, genäht und gebatikt, und den gesamten Gewinn mit Unterstützung von Worlds Education an ein Waisenhaus in Tansania gespendet. Aktuell - seit Beginn des Krieges in der Ukraine - spenden wir seit Februar 10% unserer Umsätze, um auch dort zu helfen und einen kleinen Beitrag zu leisten.

Danke für eure treue Unterstützung und eure Liebe zum Meer - ohne euch wäre wiemeer nicht möglich!